Skip to main content

Ancient History & Classics: AHCL 1401H

Help finding resources for your research.

Give Yourself a Chance

Be kind to yourself and take the time to read the tutorials BEFORE you start this assignment.  Without the knowledge they contain, you'll take longer than necessary and become quite frustrated.  The tutorials are online and listed on the right side of this page. While the Library Skills Course on Blackboard can be done for bonus marks on your first library assignment, you may find it helpful to complete it prior to doing the assignment.

Library Assignment Guide


Use the tabs above navigate through this guide.  There's a tab for each type of material you need to find.

This 3-minute video gives a quick demonstration of how to use Library resources to find scholarly articles, with the L'Annee Philologique database as an example.

Assignment #1, Questions 1 & 2

Relevant tutorials: Finding Articles, Scholarly Articles.  See the link on the right.

The questions on "Journal Articles" ask you locate and cite articles from scholarly journals.  To do this, you are expected to:

  1. find an appropriate index on the Library's website,
  2. search the index for citations on your topic,
  3. read the citations to find the date and distinguish article citations from book citations,
  4. navigate to the article from the citation, and
  5. cite the article.

Searching an index to find journal articles may be new to you, so here's your chance to figure it out.

  • Plan to spend some time on it, and be patient.
  • Try to understand the process so that you can do this for real later on.  

Taking a few minutes to read the tutorials will help you understand the process and save you time.

Keywords Are Important

Relevant tutorial: Keyword Searching.  See the link on the right.

Watch your spelling with "Iliad"

  • Some databases will find articles if you spell it "Illiad", but some will not. 
  • Proper spelling will usually find better quality articles.

You could get very different results with different search terms for "Greek Archaeology".  Try different terms:

  • archaeology and greece
  • greek archaeology
  • "greek archaeology"

Databases

Relevant tutorial: Navigating from a Citation to a Document

The databases you need are listed on this Guide, under the "Articles" tab - at the top of the page.

  • Read the description of each database if you want to know more about it - each one is unique. Pick one and try it.
  • If there are no links in the database to locate the article, use E-Journals A-Z to search for the journal, then navigate to the article.

 

L'Annee Philologique:

  • Connect to the database and enter your search term(s).
    • Limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
    • Find a relevant citation, then click on Get It! Trent to locate the article.
  • This database covers book chapters as well as articles; see the Reading Citations tutorial to learn how to read a citation and recognize the difference.

TOCS-IN:

  • Connect to the database and search. You'll get citations to articles.
  • The citation provides the details about the journal in which it was published: title, volume, issue, date, pages.
  • The titles are abbreviated, so click on the list of abbreviations to see the full title.
  • Look up that title in TOPCAT or E-Journals A-Z to see if we have it.
  • The tutorial for Navigating from a Citation to a Document explains how to find the article once you have the citation.

JSTOR:

  • Search the database to find citations.
    • Use an Advanced Search, and look for your terms in the title or abstract, rather than the full text.
    • You can limit your findings to "Classical Studies" journals if you move down the Search page.
  • All articles are available in full text, if you choose "only content I can access".
  • Clicking on the title only brings up one page of the article; use the .pdf link to get the full article.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index,  Scholars Portal Journals

  • These are very large databases that search thousands of journals for citations that match your search terms. 
  • Although their content is multi-disciplinary, including journals that have nothing to do with your subject, they can be valuable search engines for locating journal articles. 
  • Use the Get It! Trent button to link to articles from the index.

Assignment #1

You should be able to answer this question with the help of Google, an atlas, or a reading from your course.

To find an atlas in the Library, try searching TOPCAT (the Library catalogue) for: atlas and greece.

Assignment #1

To find an image on the Web, use Google or your favourite web search engine.  You can usually limit your results to "images".

Use the formatting guide provided in the Assignment-Formatting Module you completed. 

Assignment #2

These questions ask you to find specific types of books in the Library and site them appropriately.  You should be able to:

  • search TOPCAT, the Library catalogue (see the TOPCAT online tutorial to learn how)
  • look at books and identify how they are authored, and
  • site them as shown in the AHCL Assignment-Formatting Module (which you already did online).

If a TOPCAT search isn't finding what you want, you can always go to the relevant section of the Library and browse the stacks for a suitable book.

  • DE- DF is generally the best section for Greek Archaeology.  However, some books might be found in the BL, GF, GN, HT, or N sections.
  • Only the Reference books are located on the 2nd (Main) Floor.  Most of the books are on the 3rd and 4th Floors.

Keyword Hint:

  • "greek history" can give very different results than "history and greece".  See the Keyword Tutorial to learn search techniques.
  • "Virgil" is sometimes spelled differently. Look for clues in the records you find.

TOPCAT

If you haven't already done so, read the TOPCAT online tutorial now.

Use your Keyword Searching skills. If you haven't already done so, read the online tutorial on Keyword Searching.

  • To find books on a topic, use a Keyword search and try different keywords. Be creative and use your results to give you clues for other search terms.

Review your TOPCAT search results and look for similar call numbers.  This will identify the section of the Library for your topic.  Go to that section to browse the stacks (shelves) for the types of books you need. 

If you're not in the Library when you do this part, you can read the TOPCAT records for clues.

Monograph - single author

  • In the TOPCAT record, look for a "Personal Author" and no "Added authors".

Multi-Authored Volume

  • In the TOPCAT record, look for "Added author" in description.  This might be easier to find if you're physically in the Library looking at the books. (DE-DF section is on the 3rd and SILENT floor.) 
  • This information is not obvious in a TOPCAT record, and it's not something you can search for.
  • This may be a tough question - hard to find!

Edited Volume

  • An edited book is one where the editor has gathered papers from various writers to create the book; usually there's a different author and title for each chapter. This can also be called a collection of essays.
  •  In TOPCAT, an edited book states "Edited by..." just after the title, at the top of the record.
  • If you can't tell by looking at TOPCAT whether it's an edited book or a monograph, find the book in the Library and look at it.  There are plenty of edited books.

Assignment #2, Question 5

To find an encyclopedia in the Library, use "encyclopedias" as one of your search terms in a keyword search.  We have many subject-specific encyclopedias, both online and in print (hard-copy).

You can also use a descriptive dictionary to answer the question.  Look for something like: A Dictionary of Ancient Greek Civilization.

Examples:

  • encyclopedias and (greek or greece)
  • dictionaries and greece

TOPCAT Hint

  • TOPCAT doesn't do any automatic truncation - it only finds the exact letters you search for. 
  • If the word "dictionary" or "encyclopedia" appears in the title, it's probably in the singular.  When it's in the Subject Heading, it's usually plural.

Assignment #2, Question 6

Don't wait until the last minute to do this question! 

  • In the days before this assignment is due, everyone in your class is trying to use the same books. 
  • Reserve loan periods are 3 hours, so you may have to wait a LONG time to get it. 
  • Check the status in TOPCAT to see if it's available or signed out. 

Use TOPCAT to find the books on Reserve for this course.

  • The TOPCAT Tutorial explains how to find Reserve readings.
  • There are almost 40 books on Reserve for this course.
    • browse through the titles should make it clear which books you need to answer these  questions.
  • Write down the call numbers, and then ask for them at the Service Desk.

Note: Even though the staff probably know which books you want, they will make you give them the call numbers, to show that you know how to find them. (They've been instructed to do this!)

Loading

Tutorials